Been too long

I haven’t updated this thing because, well lack of training plan/races.  I could have done the Turkey Trot.  But I knew it was going to rain.  And rain it did.  All day on Thanksgiving.  But it was still a nice day.  And I ran 10 miles that morning instead of the turkey trot 5.

Ten miles is my long run right now.  Not because my legs can’t handle it.  But because I love my sleep.  I am making up for the past year with a baby I guess.  It’s so nice to not have to wake up at 4:45 anymore to pump before running.  The earliest I can get myself up lately is about 5:30 and that’s only once a week really.  I have been trying to do a week with runs of 10, 8, 7, 6, 5. Sometimes it doesn’t work out though.  Last week I could not get in a 10 miler because I got a cold.  So it went 8,7,7,6,3,3.  I have been really focused on getting faster.  I have been doing some 2 mile and 5 mile “time trials.”  my 2 mile best right now is 13:21.  I am trying to whittle it down to 12.  I guess my ultimate goal is to PR in the 4 miler and 7 mile races next year…in July.  So I have some time to get there.  I just really have to be careful not to get injured.  I probably will need to run some 5ks to get myself acclimated to racing fast again.  The only races I did this entire year was the 7 mile one and then the two marathons.

Christmas is coming! I am still struggling to find my old jolly self when it comes to Christmas.  I used to love it so much and over decorate and over buy presents.  I felt very jolly all December long.  I don’t get that way anymore which is sad.  I’m not sad, but I do miss that feeling.  It probably has to do with not having a winter break anymore and not living at home with my parents.  You know, real world stuff gets in the way. I always thought that it would come back with little kids.

I do really like taking them to Christmas-y stuff.  We went to the town holiday walk.  Then we went to another one where they had 14 different Santas wandering around and you could collect their trading cards.  That was a lot of fun.  The weather was unseasonably warm.  It will be until Christmas.  So that’s kind of nice but I really do like a white Christmas.   We also saw Santa at the mall and will be going to the library’s bake sale/story time/Santa visit this weekend.

Anyways, I ran 10 miles this morning.  Ran 2.75 on the treadmill, then outside for 6.25.  Last mile was back on the treadmill.  Sunday was 7, yesterday was 6 in under 45 minutes.  Glad to see my paces back in the mid 7s.  Tomorrow will probably be a full rest day.  I haven’t had one of those in a week.

