gurgly belly

Back from WDW.  It was a whirlwind of fun.  I think I have had my fill of Disney for a couple of years though.  I woke up Red at 4:30 the morning we left.  I just picked her up, put her shoes and socks on and she didn’t really didn’t ask why.  Then my parents showed up and my mom told her where we were going.  She was all smiles.  She was very chatty on the way to the airport.  She got moody later on the airplanes, but nothing too big.  The first night was spent in downtown Disney shopping.  My girl loves to shop.  We also ate at Rainforest Cafe which was OK.  It was very loud and even though I had a reservation, we still had to wait a long time.

The second day we ended up going to 3 parks.  Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios and Magic Kingdom.  We didn’t do much in Animal or Hollywood.  Rode a flying dino ride, saw the Lion King Show, and then did the Bug’s life show and scared the hell out of Red.  To be fair, she was still pretty tired from the day before.  At Hollywood we saw the Little Mermaid show and rode the Great Movie Ride.  She was too short to go on the 40 inch rides even though by our measuring tape, she was fine.  Then we went to Magic Kingdom.  Lots of rides and fun there.  Small World, Teacups, Dumbo, Barnstormer (shortest ride ever), Haunted Mansion, Seven Dwarfs, Fast Track, Monsters Inc., met Cinderella and Rapunzel.  We went back in the morning for more fast passes and did Aladdin, Jungle Cruise, Little Mermaid, Big Thunder Mountain, and another long wait for Seven Dwarfs.  But that was her favorite ride.  Then she had her makeover at the Bibbidi Boppity Boutique.  Oh lord it was bad.  I had to take it out a little bit later because it hurt and itched.

Then we went back to Magic Kingdom for the Halloween party.  We waited in line for Seven Dwarfs for a while.  Big Thunder and Splash Mtn were down.  After that, we headed to the parade and watched it.  Red liked it a lot.  Then we went and rode the Buzz Lightyear ride and met him.  She cried.  She was tired and a little scared.  We did Teacups again.  Then we did the People Mover which was cooler than expected.  We watched the light show on the castle and then waited for fireworks.  Left while those were still going off.  She fell asleep on the bus ride again.

Our last day we did not have park admission.  We swam and then went downtown again.  Bought more stuff. My mom bought me the coolest purse ever.  Then we waited for our Magical Express back to the airport.  Ate at Outback in the airport.  Red was pretty good on the way home.  She didn’t fall asleep until we were in the car on our way home.  We plan to go back when E turns 4 which isn’t for 3 more years.  We are considering going during Christmas time though, sometime in late November or December.

So now I have a marathon in hmm… 4 days.  I did not run at all during Disney, but my legs did not really get a break with all of that walking.  On Sunday I finally got around to running in the afternoon and did just 3.5 so I could hang with E and RKY most of the day.  Monday morning I was out and about for 8 miles and Tuesday I did 7.  I tried to do faster segments on the treadmill during these runs.  I really feel like the speedwork was non existent this summer.  But I still feel twinges in my damn hamstring.  Today I did not run.  I did arm and ab workouts instead.  Tomorrow I plan to do 5.  E has not been sleeping well, so hopefully I can get that in before she wakes up.  Friday will be a full rest day.  Saturday will be 3 easy peasy miles and then go to packet pick up.  Sunday will be 26.2.  (God willing)  I looked back at my long runs from this summer and previous marathon training summers.  They are not as good as 2013, but they are on par with 2012 when I ran my 3:27.  I am still sort of aiming for 3:30-3:35 because of my lack of speedy runs/races. Going to run by feel.  Got the music and the first serial podcast loaded on my shuffle that I will hopefully figure out how to use.  The weather will be a high of 80 so probably in the 60s while running.  Ugh.  Oh Lord, I hope I finish happy.

