about that

So there was that charity thing last week.  It went OK I guess. I was hoping to get in 20 miles but guess what?  I got bored.  I started to have flashbacks to that looped marathon I ran that made me want to cut off my legs and never run again.  I convinced myself to get to 10.  then I thought, well I should try to get to 13 miles.  My runkeeper was telling me that each loop was like.86 miles, so I had to do 15 laps.  That sounded like a good round number so I went with that.  The day was the muggiest of the year and RKY texted me that E had been up since 6 a.m., so it was a good decision.  I was kind of disappointed that I didn’t get in my 20 miler, but it was supposed to be a cutback week anyway.

So the pressure was on to get in a good one this week.  I ran 2 on Sunday, 10 on Monday, 8 on Tuesday, 3 on Wednesday, 8 on Thursday and then started last night around 8:30.  I started inside with 2.5 on the treadmill.  Did 5 miles outside then came back in for another 2.5.  I felt good that I was halfway finished.  I had already fueled at 7.5 miles and that actually ended up being the only time I did.  I probably should have done more around 12 miles.  I went back outside and ended up running 8.5 miles all at once which is unusual for me, but I felt pretty good.  It was humid and in the 70s, but there was a nice breeze.  Once I got back to the house and only had 1.5 to go, I was stoked.  I ended up running another 2 miles to finish with 20.5 mile for my long run.  Avg pace somewhere around 8:20 I would guess.  I mostly kept the treadmill on 7.2 and my outside miles were 8:22 avg pace.  I felt really good after and thought, another 5.5 is doable.  But I am not running at my goal pace.  Hopefully I will be able to come race day.

I plan to do another 20 next week.  Probably Saturday night.  The next week I have signed up for a half marathon and thought I could do it as part of a long run somehow.  It is in the afternoon, so I am not sure if I would run in the morning and then again for the race (not really a race, just a fun run i guess), or do the extra miles afterwards.  Then it’s taper time!

