I’m gonna stay 18 forever

Ugh this sciatica thing…

I am happy to report that I am running again.  Slowly.  The past three days I have actually gotten around 5 miles at an 8:30-9 min/mile pace.  It took a while to build up to just that and that seems to be my upper limit for now.  I still feel a slight pull in my butt while running which is irritating but not painful.  just weird.  It gets stronger the faster I go.  But I trust my chiro.  She tells me that this will take awhile to get completely better, but that it will.  And then I will just have to make sure I get adjusted monthly.  Right now I am going weekly or more often.  Not sure how much this will cost me.  I know I wasted 20 bucks seeing my doctor about it.  He gave me a naproxen scrip that I didn’t bother filling because I’m breastfeeding and ibuprofen is safer.  I was hoping for some kind of muscle relaxer that would loosen up my lower back.

The weather has been a bit arctic lately, but hopefully I can head outside soon and see how my hips react to that.  I think I will register for a half marathon in IL if running goes well during the next week or so.  It’s at the end of April.  Kind of disappointed that I am not in marathon shape, but I will just have to be patient and wait for fall.  And hope to be injury free the rest of the year.

I was finally able to drop my middle of the night pump.  Fifteen weeks of waking up to pump.  It feels amazing to get 6 hours of consecutive sleep.  My current schedule has me pumping at 10 p.m. which is kind of late for me, then waking up at 4:30 to pump again.  When I’m done pumping, I do my run or workout, shower, and then pump again while waiting for E to wake up.  Yesterday she woke up at 6:30 and then we napped on the couch after she ate.  Today she was still sleeping when I left for work at 8.  But Red was up at 6:45 so I had to skip my nap. I hope to start sleeping til 5 eventually, unless I have a long run to do.

I finally pulled the trigger and booked a Disney vacation for September.  Red really wants to be there during their Halloween stuff.  So do I.  The very night I booked the trip, RKY’s mom texted me and asked if we wanted to go to Orlando with them in November.  I was like WTF why did I book that today?!  Nonrefundable deposit.  But this way we get to be there for Halloween and my mom gets to come!  And then maybe we will go again in November.  I am not too sure about traveling that far with a 1 yr old.  E is staying home with RKY during the Sept trip.  I’m super excited to go, but it’s still 8 months away.  I hope she’s big enough to ride Big Thunder Mountain!

