Now my candy tastes like guilt.

So last week I focused on “speed” this week I am “going the distance.”  My speedier workouts were…ok.  I mean I really only got down to 7:30 or so paces, but that’s average.  I know I ran some miles in the lower 7s.  I kind of figured that if I want to half marathon PR, I need to start doing tempo runs in the 7:10-7:20 range.  Luckily there are no half marathons til, like late April/early May.  I am actually kind of disappointed about that.  I miss racing and that is a long way off.  I am registered for Boston but I think I am just going to lose out on that money.  A trip to Disney and a new house are in the near-ish future, so I am not about to shell out 500$/night for a hotel room.

Sunday was unusually warm, in the 40s in the morning, so I ran 9 miles.  Monday I ran 8, with some of them outside as it was still pretty nice.  Tuesday I took an off day and did some kettlebells and pushups and random strength stuff.  Then I ate like total sh*t.  I had like half a bag of chocolate chips after dinner.  Then I was all jittery from the sugar.  I still feel kind of ucky.

This morning I ran 8 miles at 7:54 pace.  I’d be happy with that as a marathon tempo run.  Anyways, I still haven’t figured out a good way to drop the overnight pump session, so it’s rough to get up at 5 to pump again and then fit in a longer run before E wakes up.  Plus I get a lot of milk during the overnighter.  I am keeping it for now.  It would be nice to be able to go longer periods during the day without pumping.

E is doing really well.  She is so freaking cute.  When I get home from work, all I want to do is hold her.  But there is always stuff to be done and I need to make sure I play with Red and give her my time too.  Life gets chaotic, like trying wipe Red’s butt while feeding E, or getting Red what she needs while holding a fussy E, but I really love it.  Even in those moments I am glad that I can find humor (sometimes).  Who would have guessed I’d love this mom thing?  Not me.

I have not much Christmas spirit this year.  I don’t know what’s missing.  I mean, it will be fun and all, but I don’t have the excitement I usually have.  Maybe it’s hormones. ha

