Remember when I found that thumb in my taco?

I am sorely disappointed in the amount of food I ate yesterday.  I’m not even a little bloated today.

That’s what happens when your two year old won’t sit at a table or eat food.  like ever.  How she still grows is beyond me.

The day started with me sleeping in until 7.  Took care of Red and got myself dressed.  I went with capri running tights, lucky shirt, lucky shoes, and my puma track jacket.  Added a hat and gloves.  The sun was out so it looked much warmer than it was.  I was almost late getting to the race but I had time to run a half mile or so to warm up.  I even stretched!  (for like 30 seconds).  Then it was time to shove ourselves into the start area.  They sang the National Anthem and then boom, we were off.  It was all very fast and I felt slightly unprepared.  I didn’t get a good starting position but it only took me maybe 15 seconds or so to cross the start.  I took off and immediately could not feel my feet.  I don’t think I felt them the entire race.  I was wearing my Mizuno Wave Evo somethings which offer very little protection from the cold.

The first mile is where the big hill is.  The good news is that the course was basically an out and back, so every incline had an equal decline.  It was rough getting up the hill before I felt warmed up, but I did decent and hit one mile at 7 min, or 6:45 chip time.  The second mile  continued up the hill and then we hit the split near the entrance to the park.  I was at 13:30, so that was a fast mile for me.  We ran through the park and crossed the halfway mat at 16:25 (chip time).  I only know these splits because they gave us a printout at the finish line.

I didn’t feel like I slowed down at that point, but apparently I did.  I hit 3 miles at 20:30.  Then it was another uphill before it leveled out and then finally we got to go down the big hill.  I hit the 4 mile mark at around 27 minutes.  I knew that finishing under 33 wasn’t happening, so I just let myself cruise in.  We turned and there was probably a third of a mile to go.  Two girls passed me and I decided that this time I would not just let them go.  I picked up the pace and passed them, then sprinted to the finish.  I was sucking (cold) wind big time.  I got my little print out and it showed me being 2nd in my age group, 10th female, 60th overall.  I was surprised that I did well in my age group.  Another surprise, only 3 other people in the top ten were local.  The top 3 females all finished under 30 minutes!  That’s crazy fast!

I’m slightly disappointed in my time.  I feel like I should have been in the 6:30s pace wise.   What slowed me down?  Not feeling my feet maybe?  I’m not sure.  Oh well.  I won a ham for getting 2nd AG, but I let them donate it to the food pantry.  I think most people do that.

Now I have no races.  Kind of sad.  Not sure what direction my running will go in for the next couple of months.

