Who wouldn’t marry a guy who has his own flaming hoop?

So I pretty much only post when I have a race coming up or have just done a race.  On one hand it’s good because I can look back and see how I felt and how I trained before each one.  On the other hand, it is also pretty sporadic, especially this time of year.  I did not do the last race I signed up for and I realized that I did not do a lot of races I signed up for this year.  Money down the drain.  Well, some of them were for good causes.  The most expensive two I didn’t do?  NYC Half and Tower of Terror 10 miler.  Not even going to type out how much money I lost on both of those.

I have a race on Thanksgiving.  It’s a big deal (locally), a 5 mile Turkey Trot that has been going for years and years and I have never ever run it.  I usually like to lay around in sweatpants all day on Tgiving.  This will be my last race of the year.  My weekly mileage has been hovering near 40, with the exception of last week when I started out the week with stomach flu (again) and ended it with a nasty cold.  My nose is still a snot factory.  It has been balls to walls cold, so my hamstrings are sore from running in the freezing temps.   I think the temp on race day will be around 20, so I’m trying to figure out what to wear.  I will most definitely be wearing my lucky shoes and t shirt.  I  bought two pairs of running tights this year.  I hate running tights.  I hate the way I look in them, but they are surprisingly comfortable and warm.  So I suppose I will wear those and try to find a long jacket to cover my ass.

The last race I did was 5 miles and I finished in just under 33 minutes.  I am hoping that I can pull that off again, but I am not sure if my body will move that fast in the cold.  Plus this race course is unfamiliar to me and has a pretty decent hill.  I will just have to focus on “having fun” and dream about eating turkey and pie later that day.  It’s my only day off this week.  I always get stuck working around the holidays because everyone else asks it off early.  Plus they’re just bitchier than me and think they deserve the days off even though I have been working here longer.  Oh well, should be a slow weekend.  I’ll get a lot of online shopping done.

