Don’t peel me, I’m not a banana

Pfffffft.  That’s about how I feel right now with running.  I suck at it.

Race for the Cure 5k was on Saturday.  I ran a 20:12 on a hilly course earlier in May, so I was expecting my time to improve.  I was WRONG.  So what happened?  What excuse do I have?  The course was super flat and familiar.  Weather was pretty nice.  In the 70s.  I ate a good breakfast.  Didn’t drink all that much because I didn’t want to use the portapotty, but that is always my race day strategy.  Things that went wrong-  I didn’t sleep that well because Red had night terrors, but I still got a decent amount I think.  It must boil down to me having my period and not wearing my lucky shoes?  Gahhh.  I didn’t push myself like I could have.  So my time was like 20:35.  That’s like 6:40 avg pace.  Yesterday I ran 4 miles at that exact same pace.  So irritating.  I have no planned 5ks until fall, just my usual 4 and 7 miler in July.  Hopefully I will fare better at those races.  Hoping for a 26:xx at the 4 miler and under 50 at the 7.  Really depends on the weather and, as I found out last year during July, the state of my sinuses.

After the race I ran about 2.5 miles on the bike path near the finish and then hopped in my car.  Came back home and ran another 4.5.  Then, while Red napped a few hours later, I ran another 4 on the treadmill.  That put me at 14 for the day.  Ran 7 on Sunday, 4 on Monday, 10 today, and will finally give my weary legs a rest tomorrow.  I will be out of town next week for work (ew), so I am hoping for long runs this weekend and on Monday before I leave so I can take it easy while I’m there.  Also I don’t want to get lost/mugged/raped etc. in a strange town.  Wait… I don’t want that to happen anywhere

