My face feels like magic. Dude, wanna taste?

I have never tapered before.  The last time I ran a marathon I ran a 20 miler the week before.  This time I am actually doing it.  I thought a rest would be nice but now I know why some people hate it.  I feel like a fat ass.  I also feel like I’d rather sleep in every day than get up an run EVER AGAIN, but I’m sure I’ll be able to get back to the routine after the race.  Ran 4 miles yesterday.  Didn’t run today.  Have a 5k fun run tomorrow that I better not overdo.  Will stuff my face with cake and drink gallons of water.  Also started taking ibuprofen every 4 hours until race morning.   Googling weird things like “how to survive the last 10k of a marathon” “should I wear compression socks to bed?” and “preventing poop while running.”  It’s the only thing I have been thinking about for about 3 weeks straight.  I haven’t been talking about it because a) no one in my family cares and because b) I don’t want people to know how nervous I am about it. 

I feel a bit like I’m falling apart physically, which bodes well for me.  I have been a mouth breather for over a month now thanks to allergies.  My calves hurt for no reason.  My shoulders keep getting really tense and my wrist is carpal tunneling again.  Why am I a 30 yr old in a 50 yr old body?

