Weekend went fast. i didn’t

Confession: I run some of my long runs on the treadmill.  It sort of feels like cheating, but I do force myself to run faster on it and put it on a slight incline.  I just like to change up my routine which worries me, because on race day I have to run all of them outside.  Without my beloved TV.  My biggest issue is that I get bored and then I think too much about how tired I am.   TV is a good distraction from that.  Praise almighty Netflix.

Saturday’s long run ended up being 20.4 miles.  I started with 2.5 on the treadmill and then went out for my first outside session.  That ended up being 6.5 miles.  Came back inside and Red was already up.  I hopped on the treadmill anyway and RKY and her drifted back to sleep with the calming? sounds of the belt.   I sort of miss when I used to run with her in the pack n play or bassinet next to the ol mill.  As soon as I stopped it she would be fully awake.  Good motivation to hold my bladder and keep running for as long as possible.   I digress…

So I had 9 miles done and was feeling pretty good.  Had the treadmill set to 7.2 mph.  Ran another 2.5 miles then headed back outside.  The sun was fully up (yuck) and lots of people were out jogging and walking.  I was already drenched in sweat and feeling like I was dragging.  I seem to get really tired around 12 miles and then I go through a series of 2nd winds, peaks and valleys.  My hammys were tight so I stopped at the house again after 5 miles.  So at this point I figured I would do a couple inside then go back out and finish up, but instead I got really into an episode of Bridezillas and ended up finishing the last 3.5 and then a little bit more because I felt guilty for not running for at least 3 hours.   I only ran for 2:50 and I still don’t feel like that is a long enough “long run.”  Averaged about 8:22 min/mile.  I have no idea what to expect if I actually run a full marathon.  I don’t think I could go much faster than that and run for another 6 miles.  Anywhoo, I wore compression shorts for the first time ever and I don’t think they made any difference.

Sunday was the worst weather day all year.  I know we need the rain but come on…all freakin day?  Now I get why parents are always looking for free shit to do outside of the house.  I was stuck inside trying to entertain Red.  I ended up sharing the burden with my parents which was nice because she thinks they are the bee’s knees.  It did stop raining around 7, so we went for a walk.  I put on Sesame Street and hoped she’d drift off during that, but 45 minutes and one episode later she was still staring blankly at the screen.  I got off my ass and rocked her which finally did the trick.  Though it was a rest day, I went out and ran 3.5 miles.  The first mile was 8:20 and the last was under 7 minutes.  I’m so old I actually have to warmup now.  Ugh.

Today I woke up from a dream where I was painting the door of a haunted garage.  It was still dark out so I was creeped out.  Ran 4.5 miles avg pace 7:22 then ran 1.5 miles on the treadmill avg pace 7:05.  Regular Show was on OHHHHH.  As soon as I hopped off and went to get a drink, I ran into RKY and Red, who I thought would fall asleep but instead laid against my hot sticky chest for another full episode of Sesame Street.  Desperately needing a shower, I let her play on the bathroom floor with her dad’s toothbrush.  He’d kill me.

